Long-awaited House and Barn Pics


The cut-out section will be two stories tall

The cut-out section will be two stories tall

Tom always wanted a house with lots of windows that somehow looked like a cabin, you know

Bay Window on North Side of House

Bay Window on North Side of House

something like the A-frames you see at ski resorts yet somehow snug and cozy like the mountaineers’ cabins you stumble across unexpectedly in the hollows of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Throw in a little Ahwanee or Old Faithful Lodge and you get the idea, wood and rustic if the Rockefellers got hold of it.

I always wanted a house that looked like a home, but with enough space so I could somehow leave my 63 ongoing projects out so I could work on each as the inspiration struck. I need 63 projects because I need to keep moving around. I need to keep moving around because I have a bad back and CRPS (Complex Regional Pain Syndrome, also known as RSD, Reflex Sympathetic Dystrophy.) I’ll write more on this in a later blog, let’s just say at this point I have it but it doesn’t have me.

Our Salt Lake house is picturesque, well-located, historic, and small with 10 or 12 foot ceilings. You can’t use the dining table because I always have a project in the middle of it and you can’t use the garage because it is full of more projects. My father sold clocks and there are dozens of them in the house and in boxes in the garage. Some day I’ll sell some of them.

Our previous house was enormous, the one I figured I’d live in until I died, on one acre in Richmond, VA, with a wall of windows in the back, two attics and a large, windowed “work room” in the basement. It even had an elevator (tiny lift.) Finicky business that broadcasting is, it shook itself and we had to move on. Sigh.

Anyway, back to the Oklahoma ranch. Since these photos were taken, I’m told the barn has had its siding put on–white with deep red trim–and the rafters are going up on the second floor of the house

Photo taken of the back of the house before second story is added.

Photo taken of the back of the house before second story is added.

Once I get updated photos, or take them myself, I’ll add them to the blog.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Long-awaited House and Barn Pics”

  1. tazzieval Says:

    wow, and the weather looks fabulous as well.

  2. zenasurialpacas Says:

    I just got a few more pictures in on my cell phone and I’m trying to translate them into photos I can put in the blog. So far, I have one of the west (back( of the house.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

