Lasik Surgery and alpacas


Today’s post will be short and sweet since I type using the hunt and peck system. Yesterday I offered up myself and my eyes for Lasik surgery. Oddly enough, this is part of the prep for moving to our alpaca ranch in Oklahoma. I decided that if our girls were intending to produce crias in the middle of the night (6-9 a.m. Kathleen time) I was not going to ne hunting for glasses to be able to find the barn.

Not being able to see the clock ar night was the least of it. During our summer travels, I awakened at several locations unsure of where I was, feeling for the wall or the light switch, reipping over shoes, wastebaskets, dressers–you name it. It occurred to me that if a distressed alpaca was waiting for me, this was not a good thing.

So alpacas inspired me to do something I had put off for decades.

Yesterday I went “under the laser” and I was shocked at the result. While I wore contacts and/or glasses for forever, I could see better almost at once without either!

I had both eyes done at once since I figured, pain-phobe that I am that if it hurt at all I wouldn’t do the other one. Several points to note:

1. Initially it hurt like blazes, but that faded within a couple of hours.

2. A friendly, patient person to put the perpetual drops in your eyes and offer encouragement is incredibly nice.

3. Plan on sleeping a LOT and being out of commission for a couple of days.

4. Reading on day one is totally out and, oops, not too good an idea right away.

5. It didn’t itch, for me, like they said it would. In a few hours I get to take off these semi-transparent “goggles” they tape over your eyes so you don’t itch or bump them,

More on this later and pictures of the house–once they let me. Off to rest now. 🙂

Forgive any typos.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Lasik Surgery and alpacas”

  1. tazzieval Says:

    well done to you, very brave – in Australia they will not do both eyes at same time. My Mum is waiting for surgery on 2nd eye. Hope all is good today.

  2. zenasurialpacas Says:

    I figured if I did just one, I wouldn’t have the courage to do the other. So far, my sight is 20/15 in one eye and we are waiting to see how the other settles down. I had them do monovision. The left eye sees far and the right one sees near. I wore contact lenses like that for years.
    It seems really strange to not have to reach for glasses in order to do anything at all. I hope your mother doesn’t have to wait long; this is fantastic!

Leave a Reply

