Packing a Load to go to Paca Zena


I am packing boxes to move for the umpteenth time in my life. I don’t even want to think about how many times I have moved. I attended 26 schools before graduating from high school and no, my parent(s) were not in the military. My father managed a chain store that thought two years in one location meant you were stale. They later went out of business and I figured it was probably because of all the money they spent moving people around.

I married a man in broadcasting and two years is the average time an on-air position lasts. When you add people who spend thirty to forty years into the equation, you’ll realize some people last about a nano-second. At the time of our latest move had I said I would only move if I could have an alpaca. Yes, I was so green that I thought I could have just one. (You can agist just one, but I thought I’d better have two just in case we moved again and, as I said in a previous blog, three were even less expensive. I suspect they are cheaper by the dozen too, but Tom wasn’t about to buy a dozen creatures he’d only just heard existed.

No matter how many times you move, you never really get the hang of it, especially if you happen to be a pack rat like me. I think I hang on to things to try to keep the memories of people and places I have enjoyed. Some people and things disappear every time boxes are packed.

We are taking a trailer south with extraneous things that I have sitting around and sufficient furniture to basically furnish one bedroom, plus a table and chairs and the freezer we don’t use here, but will use there since grocery stores are not just around the corner. We will finally empty the garage and be able to park a car in it. We’ll be back for another load quite soon.

Sometime after we get back, we will put the house on the market to sell or rent it. Does anyone want a quaint house in a neighborhood with sidewalks, right downtown, with low taxes because it is in a historic district, great neighbors and good restaurants right around the corner? It has a hot tub, a fountain, a fire pit, a quaint upstairs bathroom complete with a claw-footed tub and a modern, skylighted bathroom–with shower jets all over the shower, big enough to put the whole family (and the dogs) in all at once and a build-in bench in case you get too tired to go on.

We have porches running the width of the house in front and back and often sit and watch the world go by as we rock or swing. There is a white picket fence in front and a small yard with privacy fencing in back. We have the alpaca lifestyle, just nowhere to put alpacas.

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Packing a Load to go to Paca Zena”

  1. tazzieval Says:

    oh mi, moving gear already, is the barn completed, the house??? Just too exciting. I mis-understood previous post, I thought closing on house meant you had sold the Salt Lake house! Doh! Our pacas are all great, my brother did a fabulous job, we trimmed all toenails yesterday, and I will start halter training the two youngest next week.

    • zenasurialpacas Says:

      Hi Val, We are going to Oklahoma next week to see how the barn and house are progressing. I think the exterior of the barn is done, except for the doors and I hear they are putting the rafters on the second floor of the house. We need to see what’s up. We left my best friend from college, her friend who is a contractor, and her mother in charge. The house was going to be about 1600 square feet with one bedroom, one bathroom and a loft when we left in June. Now it is about 3400 square feet with 2 1/2 bathrooms and a two-car garage. The barn was to be 60 feet by 40 feet and have a bathroom and wash room. Now it has an apartment upstairs with two bedrooms and a bath and a 10 foot overhang on two sides. Yow! The strange thing is that it is not costing much more than the original version. I think the contractor has designs on my friend and is trying to impress her. 🙂 So far he has impressed Tom and me–we suspect we will be lost in it to say the very least. This is getting interesting–we may have to buy an additional herd of alpacas or open a hotel just to use up some of the space. We’ll let you know what we find when we get there. In the meantime, we’re taking a trailer full of things to Oklahoma for storage so our house here looks less crowded when we try to sell it. We are pleased to hear your brother is a good alpaca wrangler and you can easily slip back into your lives. Our alpacas are still up in the mountains–we’ll see them on Wednesday–and we can hardly wait to get them to their new home, but it is totally frightening to think of all of us alone and trying to handle potential crises. All the best, K-T

Leave a Reply

