Alpaca Homesteading–It’s a Buya’s Market


When we bought the land, we had no idea when, if ever, we would live there–but we bought it anyway. As my Uncle Jack told me, “Buy land. They’re not making any more of it.” I think he had heard that somewhere before.

The first inkling I had that the message had been ingrained so deeply was on a date–the 50th anniversary of “Gone With the Wind.” Scarlett’s father tells her about the importance of Tara, the land. My date turned to me and asked if I had seen the movie before. As God is my witness, I hadn’t. But I cringed visibly when she said she hated Tara.

As a child of Scots-Irish, Irish and Prussian heritage (yes, my grandmother hailed from Alsace-Loraine, secretly arriving in the U. S. in a trunk when she was four), the importance of saving a penny and owning actual ground has always been implanted in me through my family collective memory.

So now, I’ve worked hard and it’s become a buya’s market–buya barn, buya fence, buya house, buya a bunch of alpacas. It’s a good time to invest for the future. It wasn’t my idea to build and homestead. I want to thank my parents, my grandparents, my great grandparents, my Uncle Jack…and oh yes, thank you Mr. O’Hara.

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Alpaca Homesteading–It’s a Buya’s Market”

  1. Barefoot Beachbaby Says:

    Buya tractor, buya lot of equipment… LoL!! Sooooo true.

    But as the granddaughter of a man who lost a farm in the Great Depression, I want to make sure all our hard work on this farm isn’t for naught. I love this place and all it has come to mean.

    Scarlett didn’t really hate Tara. Its red dirt ran like blood in her veins. Now that I have a farm, I understand the deep connection humans can have for the land — even we transplanted former Scots-cum-Americans.

  2. zenasurialpacas Says:

    So true… Scarlett only thought she hated Tara when Mr. O’Hara told her she had to love it. She had to discover that the red earth was indeed a part of her. Generally, the things she thought she hated were what made her strong and many of the things and people she had convinced herself she loved were unworthy of her.
    We do have to watch to make sure we’re not overextending and spend our money sensibly so we don’t repeat what happened to your grandfather or what very nearly happened to Scarlett at Tara and have to marry our sisters’ suitors. (Unfortunately I have no sister and if I did, Tom might not like me marrying someone else.)
    Don’t Buya if you can’t afford it or if you need that money for something else in the next few years. We’ll put a disclaimer here–consult your financial adviser. But if you’ve been saving for decades, as we have, and you’re going to need that tractor soon, now IS a good time to strike a favorable deal.

  3. Loco Lindy Says:

    I can identify- my grandparents (my Dad the youngest of 14!) also lost their precious farm during the Great Depression. Many good lessons have come down through the generations. I’d be lying if I said I didn’t have some occasional moments of hating this farm (it can be overwhelming!) but the majority of time I am very, very happy and grateful here. There IS always something, though (this week it looks like it’ll be the A/C). Great post!

    • zenasurialpacas Says:

      My grandfather managed at a coal yard in Chicago before the Depression and my grandmother took their 10 children to Southwestern Michigan because my grandfather didn’t want his daughters playing in the streets and alleys. They hunkered down on a small farm when the coal yard tanked and survived on things they grew there. Many Oklahomans and Arkansans weren’t so lucky since they didn’t own their farms outright. Think “Grapes of Wrath” and the added pain of the Dustbowl. Be careful out there, no matter what field you’re in. Plan, plan, plan.

Leave a Reply

