Alpacas are for Spinning


May I add spinning and carding to the list of things I do?

Those of you who follow me on twitter, facebook and here probably know I am “simplifying” my life by moving to a ranch in Oklahoma, but it seems for everything I pack, I find thing new I need. I think I’m stockpiling for the future because I figure I may run out of things to do–or as I suggested in an earlier post–I just may be a hoarder.

My latest addition is a Louet spinning wheel. Linda Gardner or Blue Moon Ranch had a few people come over to spin. There were cookies and tea, four wheels, a drop spindle, six people and a lot of fleece. As the lone suri breeder (everyone else was spinning huacaya or merino sheep), I brought some of Madrigal’s cria fleece that the Coarse Broads had labeled as hand spin after skirting it. Madrigal is a pretty multi with plenty of luster and fineness,Β  but not the best lock in the world… In other words, a spinner’s dream.

thegroup (Large)

At Blue Moon Ranch amid spinning wheels

There were four wheels present and I tried my hand at all of them. To everyone’s amazement, I could spin almost right from the start on all but one of the wheels and I think the problem there was that I was getting a bit tired. My biggest problem was going slowly enough and taking the yarn up on the spindle on a regular basis to keep from getting too much twist in the yarn.

theyarn (Large)

Some of the yarn I made

As you can see, there is plenty of twist. I found the single treadle Louet to be the easiest spinning wheel to learn on and–oddly enough, it was for sale. So I did what any good hoarder would do, I snatched it up and will pick it up on Monday. That gives the seller time to remove the yarn she was spinning. She will oil it up and have it ready to go. So now I have an additional career and an additional reason why I raise alpacas. For additional information about Linda’s alpacas check out bluemoonranch.net Her alpacacam is great for eavesdropping on alpacas and a boon for those without alpacas out the window.

Did you know you can spin suri without even carding it? My friend tazzieval from twitter tells me she uses a regular pet comb to straighten hers enough for spinning. I suspect I’m some way from being quite that confident.

kathleen2 (Large)

Spinning on the Louet

As you can see from the photo of me at the Louet, spinning is serious work and, yes, that is actual yarn. If I can do it, you can do it. By the way, in Utah’s dry climate static electricity means the fleece sticks everywhere. I recommend not wearing dark colors when spinning light colored yarn. πŸ™‚

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Alpacas are for Spinning”

  1. tazzieval Says:

    and I recommend not wearing light colours when spinning black Suri – LOL. Well done, love the pic of your yarn, you are going to have YEARS of yarnfun.

  2. zenasurialpacas Says:

    I suspect I’ll need to rethink my entire wardrobe. Heh, heh, heh. Tom suggests a big apron might be more effective, practical, and cost efficient. 😦

  3. linda Says:

    Hey Kathleen, It was great fun wasn’t it? I still think you need a huacaya or two…or four… LOL
    I appreciate the plug for the alpaca cam etc, but my web address is a .net, not a .com πŸ™‚

    • zenasurialpacas Says:

      If I keep on the way I’ve been going, I may need several huacayas or more. It’s a pity you can’t spin right from the alpaca, isn’t it? We certainly did have fun. I’m sorry about the mistake. Duh. I’d like to put a link on my blog to your site if I can figure out how. Would you mind?

  4. Anonymous Says:

Leave a Reply

