My New Spring Resolution–Alpacas


After one tough, record-breaking winter we are crawling out to inspect the damage and to prepare for shearing–yes, shearing will be on April 8 this year.

We had not one but two “Storm of the Century” events that brought 14 inches of snow and a week later 27 inches of snow (our average yearly snowfall here is 8 inches), a record-setting 27 degrees below zero, and wind gusts around 30 mph. OK Mom Nature, we know you can surpass your own records after the driest, the coldest, the wettest, the hottest: Can we just be average for a bit?

In the midst of all of that on a cold, but sunny day I was on my way to try to help a friend’s llama that was down when I managed to totally roll and destroy my trusty Trail Blazer. When it was over, Spot (who had been sleeping in the back seat) and I were covered in soft dirt and basically OK. I got to go to the emergency room in an ambulance, had a flare-up of my RSD (Complex Regional Pain Syndrome)  and am still stiff and sore over three months later. I was scarcely able to move for weeks, but the call of the alpacas finally got me up and moving. They more than missed me–more on that at some later date.

Just now, I am going out to enjoy a sunny day in the 70s amongst my alpacas. They are so happy to see me that they come running even from the furthest fields. I find myself sneaking around, going out one of the other doors: Maybe I need a Halloween costume so they won’t know it’s me? Maybe I need to stop feeding special treats? I think I am just so happy to be a survivor that I have spoiled every one.

 

 

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “My New Spring Resolution–Alpacas”

  1. Wonder Why Gal Says:

    Welcome back! It’s been forever since I’ve seen a post from you and now I know why. I’m glad that you are on the mend and hopefully the beautiful warm (not too warm) weather will brighten your spirits and mend your body.

    Those Alpacas…they sure do let you know that they miss you. I have one that I think pouts if I’ve been away and another that gives the best Alpaca nuzzles and kisses.

  2. Kathryn | Alpacamundo Says:

    Yay! I was so excited to see your post. 🙂

    I’m glad you’re doing better and enjoying a bit of spring.

    • zenasurialpacas Says:

      Thanks. Hanging on to the VCU/Butler game tonight. So happy the alpacas are happy. Doing a spring/freedom dance.

Leave a Reply

