Alpacas and the Wind and the Fields and Fire


Maybe the 35 mile per hour gusts will blow the hay out of the fleece before shearing. It is windy again today and reminds me of a cruise Tom and I once took. He insisted on going up to the very bow where the wild wind made it impossible to speak. It’s difficult to believe that too much air can suck your breath away, but it can.

All of Oklahoma is under a burn ban and with wind like this it seems anything could burn. West of us there are fires–but far west so far. We see pictures on the news and smell whiffs of smoke on occasion and it is unnerving. We are a bit more fortunate than most of the state. This is Green Country and we have had rain. But I would not take bets on fires not catching given the right circumstances. The alpacas don’t seem worried and they seem to know about things long before we do.

I’m not going to write too much today. The new field will be ready in less than an hour and we’ll be letting the alpacas in shortly. The fence is not totally complete on the south side–there is fencing, just not the 5 foot no-climb I like so much. Since the field is somewhere around 12-15 acres, I don’t expect them to notice the fence at all, just all of the grass. They will only be allowed in the field when I am home and able to keep an eye open in that direction and they will be able to come into the barn at will. I don’t expect them to want to come in very soon.

I’ll get pictures and look for that camera cable. I promise.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

